Why Social Media Matters To Me

December 15, 2008 at 2:50 PM 1 comment

I don’t run my own business, I don’t work in the marketing department for anyone and I’m not trying to get or sell anything. So sometimes I wonder why social media matters so much to me. You’d think I have some sort of master plan; I don’t.

I have a MySpace page (near defunct since I joined the next one), a Facebook page and most recently I signed up for Twitter, immediately followed by Twittermoms. I read Problogger and Mashable for fun. I’m a member of at least 5 mom communities. I can’t stop myself; it’s addicting.

I’d understand my fascination if at least I were in business and all this social media-ing amounted to an increase in sales, good PR, word of mouth publicity…but I’m not in any business. I think what it comes down to is that I don’t want to get left behind. Kind of like when I was a kid and pagers were all the rage. My parents outlawed them as the tools of drug dealers and slutty girls; I never got one. I could feel that I was getting passed by by new technology and it sucked. I don’t know what it was that I missed out on but I’m not letting social media pass me by. I think that by jumping in to it all I’ll never become the grandparent who can’t figure out how to program the TiVo.

A quick bit about Twitter. I avoided it forever because I was convinced it wasn’t for me. Only really important people “tweet” right? And I figured it must be super complicated and waaaay over my head, right? Well I signed up this weekend and can I say I feel somewhat foolish for ignoring it for so long. I’m afraid I might be missing something since I think it’s so easy…like I signed up for the newbie version and after 100 tweets they’ll give me access to the real thing. Anywho…I’m a fan of the Twitter. Feel free to follow me: http://twitter.com/MamaHeartsBaby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m a Hobby Whore A Quick Rant

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stesha  |  December 17, 2008 at 7:25 AM

    That is the question I ask myself all the time. My myspace page is never used. Never started a facebook, but I love twitter.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


