2008: New Year, New Lifestyle

January 2, 2008 at 12:15 PM Leave a comment

Woohoo! The new year is here (love myself some rhyming!). I’ve never been big on resolutions because I was never really good about coming up with them. When I smoked, I said, “I’ll quit smoking.” Never happened because of a New Year’s resolution- just by itself in the middle of the year with little fanfare. I felt a bit chubby, so I said, “I’ll lose weight.” Didn’t happen because of the resolution, instead a trip to the caribbean kicked my tubby butt into high gear. Basically, I never took resolutions seriously. I always thought the focus was taking a negative aspect of my life and eliminating it. Smoke, quit. Fat, lose it. Messy, cut it out.

This year, though, I’m realizing that resolutions can be about introducing positive habits into your life. If you approach something by focusing on the negative, then it’s not going to be that important. Who wants to focus on the bad stuff? Instead this year, I’m going to focus on adding good things to my life. Which is a completely different way of thinking of things and feels much more encouraging. Not only that, but we’re not picking “things” to introduce (like, let me introduce broccoli into my diet this year or let’s introduce sit-ups into my life), rather I’m going to focus on making lifestyle changes.

After having my daughter in June, I feel like the rest of 2007 was a learning phase where my husband and I got to educate ourselves and really decide what kind of parents we want to be and what kind of life we want for our family. 2008 is going to be the year to really act on those choices and develop our personal definition of a lifestyle.

Here’s a quick round up of the lifestyle changes we’re hoping to incorporate into our lives this year:

-Be kinder
-Be greener
-Be more conscious about purchases

Some might think that these are simple, vague things to state as New Year’s resolutions but they are tangible and realistic. Take for instance when someone says they want to lose 10 pounds by a certain date. If that date, arrives and they’ve lost 7, have they failed? Certainly not! In that month, they changed their way of living- eating habits, fitness levels, etc. Positive life changes have taken place that can’t be measured by a number. In the same way this vague commitment for 2008 doesn’t necessitate being measurable.

What good will you focus on this year?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What Kind of Mama Am I? I’m a Poser

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


