Do Good December 5th & The Retroactives

December 6, 2007 at 10:45 AM 2 comments

I feel really excited about my family’s “do good” pledge. Not all of our deeds will be monetary but they will all help the less fortunate or those in need. Today I went over to Dollar Philanthropy and found a great site(s) for our deed of the day. Dollar Philanthropy linked to the Animal Rescue site from where you could select several other causes (hunger, breast cancer, child health, literacy and rainforest). It’s a simple theory: click on the giant button on the main page of each site and the sponsors who advertise on their site will give money towards assistance in each category. Here is what MHB did today (in less than 5 minutes!):

.6 Bowls of food to rescue animals
1.1 Cups of food to the hungry
1 Free mammogram to a woman who needs it
1 Child got assistance in getting healthcare
1 Child is getting assistance with literacy skills
11.4 Square feet of rainforest was protected

Those were just for today! Here are the 3 do goods for the days my family missed:

First I stopped by Spread the Sharing which is sponsored by Shedd’s Country Crock. At this site, you submit a “story of sharing” and for every story published by Country Crock, America’s Second Harvest will donate a meal to a family in need. America’s Second Harvest is “The Nation’s Food Bank Network… the nation’s largest charitable hunger-relief organization.” Through the Story of Sharing program, Country Crock donates money for each story to America’s Second Harvest to “distribute enough food and grocery items to make up an average American meal of 1.28 pounds of food.”

Then I went to GoodSearch who, for each search you do, donates 50% of the revenue generated from their advertisers to the charity of your choice. I did a search for the March of Dimes which works to “improve the health of babies by preventing birth defects, premature birth, and infant mortality…through research, community services, education and advocacy…” I’m going to use their Good Shop to make some holiday purchases. I’m saving those for later in the month when I figure out what to get certain lovelies in my life.

Finally, I gathered up books from around my house and donated them to our local library. I have a slight addiction to buying books. I love them to be lying around- on shelves, nightstands, tables- anywhere and everywhere! Only problem is I don’t always read them all. I’ve always put up a fight about getting rid of our books because I assume I’ll read them all one day. I have to be honest with myself, they’ll benefit someone else that will actually read them than they will me. So off they went to our local library.

We’re finally caught up…Do Good December’s going strong!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Don’t Wanna Grow Up, I Don’t Wanna Grow Up Holiday Cards

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mbn18  |  December 9, 2007 at 12:52 AM

    There is a new alternative for online fundraising, take a look at GiveStream ( http://www.givestream.com). It offers a set of free and easy-to-use online fundraising and community-building tools that help nonprofits create their own branded easy giving center.

  • 2. Carol  |  December 24, 2007 at 1:28 AM

    Thanks for the shout out and the link. I started this blog as a personal endeavor. With a new baby due any day now, I’m looking forward to turning this into a family commitment too.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


