Do Good December

December 5, 2007 at 1:49 PM 1 comment

Like I’ve mentioned before, the arrival of D has made me revisit the way I live my life. One area I’ve been examining lately is that of my philanthropic efforts. I’ve always felt that when you are in a position to offer something to improve another human being’s life, then you should do it- Because it’s the right thing to do and because deep down I believe the world gives back to you the energy you give out to it. I have always been the person who wants to donate money but figures I’m living paycheck to paycheck, I’ll find another way to make a difference. I never thought to donate clothes because I had no idea where the bins in my community are located. I never donated non-perishable food items because, well, I was lazy and forgetful.

I want D to be a good person that gives back to the world. With that in mind, the hubs and I have decided that as a family tradition, we will do something good every day in the month of December. I won’t lie- we didn’t decide until today so we’re 3 days backed up with good things to do but we’re going to do 3 extra things to make up for those days. Today I went over to Free Rice to donate some food to the hungry, 700 grains of rice to be exact! I’ll let you know tomorrow what our retroactive good deeds are for the days we’ve missed. Our goal is to raise a child that is grateful and aware of the world she lives in. We don’t want her to take anything for granted or be misled to believe that everyone is as lucky as she is. We’re hoping that by starting certain traditions from infancy, the behavior of generosity and charity will be natural.

So I’ve been enjoying Something Good for some “do good” inspiration. 1 day down, 30 left to go!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Refreshed and Renewed I Don’t Wanna Grow Up, I Don’t Wanna Grow Up

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lornadoone  |  January 3, 2008 at 5:39 PM

    I just came across your blog, and I’m so happy that Something Good offered you some ideas for things to do in December. I hope you were able to follow through with lots of ways to model great behavior for Baby D. What an awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


