Taking the Leap Into Freelancing

January 5, 2009 at 2:55 AM 2 comments

Photo courtesy of Stock.xchng

Photo courtesy of Stock.xchng

The last two months have really gotten me thinking about what direction I want to take my professional life.  Right now I work for a large insurance company in a cubicle; your typical corporate America nine to five.  I didn’t set out on any kind of path to get to where I’m at, things just kind of fell into place.  Actually, I probably did more to try and avoid the cube life than anything else.  I’ve never really known what it is I want to be when I grow up but I’ve always known the things that I love to do, writing being one of them.  So two months ago when Latina came knocking looking for a Latina mom blogger, I felt like some cosmic force was at work telling me to wake up and get going.

I’ve always loved to write but never sought out how to turn it into a career.  I had dreamed for a long time of writing a book but was always too scatterbrained to develop characters fully or a solid storyline; fiction was not my thing.  I stepped away from writing for a long time, not consciously but just because life was happening and I wasn’t paying attention.  When Dessa came around I had to get back to the things that I love and blogging let me connect back to my love for writing.  I’m incredibly lucky to have been given the opportunity to blog for Latina.  For someone with zero professional writing experience, this is the chance of a lifetime.  I’m feeling more and more each day that I have to seize the moment or it’ll pass me by.

I’ve been mulling over exactly what seizing this moment  means; I’m afraid I won’t know how to use this great opportunity to benefit me in the long run.  So in an effort to avoid missing out on this opp, I’ve put myself out there.  I’ve applied for several blogging positions and have gone from two little blogs to a whopping four (I start at BabySwags and Blissfully Domestic this month)!  I listed myself in a directory of moms looking to help one another out and I’m now writing a press release and have gotten great connections from the moms on there.  I was bold enough to even put myself out there as a social media consultant.  I lined up a busy month in February with 4 giveaways and 4 interviews (yikes!).  I’m not getting paid for any of this and I don’t mind; I just know there’s something in this jumble of assignments that I’m really hungry for.  And I’ve never been hungry for anything professionally.  It’s invigorating and exciting and kick ass!

I have so much brewing I can barely think straight sometimes.  I’m working on a posting schedule and trying to prioritize the things that matter.  I will keep writing at the various blogs and taking on freelance work as it comes and for as long as everything is working towards building a solid portfolio of work in my area of expertise.  But I also want to make sure I have enough time to start developing both an ebook and a full length book.   I’m considering attending a blogging/social media conference.  I want to continue to educate myself on this new field I’m venturing into.  As you can see, my mind has a lot to think about these days.

I’m reading a ton of different blogs right now and am considering signing up for a marketing course.  I also just downloaded a great eWorkbook which might help me get to one of those conferences I’m dreaming about.  I’ll follow up this post later week when I sort through all the info.  I’m hoping to find some really great info that might help out other freelance newbies.  Heck not to mention put it all in one handy place for myself!

If any of my readers just up and took a leap with freelancing, I’d love to know how you did it and where you’re at now.  Where did you find the best work?  How long were you willing to work for free?  How did you define being successful?  Any input would be great!

Entry filed under: Freelance, Mompreneur, Social Media. Tags: .

My Little Lady Welcome Monday Momisms!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carmen Borthwick  |  February 8, 2009 at 8:37 AM

    Hello Carla,
    I enjoyed reading your thoughts, you sound like a very nice woman and wonderful Mom.
    My ‘leap’ with freelancing returned when my youngest son, Nicholas, graduated high school in 2007. My husband and I had decided that I would stay home so my pursuit of writing was placed on the back burner, and although it was difficult at times to survive on one income I don’t regret a single second.
    I wrote for local newspapers and an ezine and in September 2008 I published Three Trimesters… A Journal to Motherhood.
    I have always taught my three children that the only failure is to not try or to be afraid to try. As long as you give it your best shot you have succeeded. I always make a point of also quoting ‘if at first you don’t succeed try, try again’. If you think I can help in anyway please don’t hesitate to ask. I suppose you could call me a professional mom, it’s in my blood to nurture and guide. i’ve often thought of becoming a coach… we’ll see!

  • 2. mamaheartsbaby  |  February 9, 2009 at 12:24 PM

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience! It’s been great so far. I’d love to know more about your road to getting published. I just checkout the site and it looks beautiful. I didn’t realize until after I had my daughter how precious those 9 months are. Thank you again =)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

